USDA Secretary Vilsack designates 9 Massachusetts counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas due to the 2022 drought

Staff Report
Published: 8/19/2022 10:09:23 AM
Modified: 8/19/2022 10:05:56 AM

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) announced on Aug. 15, that Secretary Vilsack has designated nine Massachusetts counties as primary natural disaster areas due to the 2022 drought.

Disaster designation areas for Massachusetts include Worcester County.

A USDA Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and the contiguous counties above eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA loans.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans.

More information on assistance is available at Disaster Assistance Programs (

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information. Massachusetts FSA link is available here: Massachusetts State Office (

E-Edition & Local Ads


athol forecast

Social Media

Athol Daily News

14 Hope Street,
Greenfield, MA 01302-1367
Telephone: (413) 772-0261


Copyright © 2021 by Newspapers of Massachusetts, Inc.