Election planning already under way in local towns

For The Athol Daily News
Published: 1/3/2022 2:34:35 PM
Modified: 1/3/2022 2:33:55 PM

REGION — The year 2021 was barely at an end before town clerks in Petersham and Royalston began preparing for their respective 2022 annual town elections.

Petersham’s election is scheduled for Monday, March 7. Anyone wishing to run must return their nomination papers to Town Clerk Diana Cooley by Jan. 17. The last day to register to vote in the election is Tuesday, Feb. 15.

Incumbents up for re-election include Nancy Allen, Selectboard; Jean Robinson, Board of Assessors; Fifi Scoulopoulos, Board of Health; Dennis Legare, Richard Bartus, and Larry Robinson, Constable (3 positions); Maryanne Reynolds, Mahar Regional School Committee; Lynn Peredina, Petersham School Committee; Donna Byron, Planning Board; and Hilary Loring, Trustees of Public Library. All positions are for three years.

Incumbents who have already signed the blanket nomination paper for re-election are Nancy Allen, Fifi Scoulopoulos, Maryanne Reynolds, and Hilary Loring.

Anyone with questions may call Cooley at 978-724-6649.


Royalston has also begun gearing up for its annual election, which will be held on Monday, April 4. Balloting will take place from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. at Town Hall.

Nomination papers will be available beginning Wednesday, Jan. 5 and must be returned no later than 5 p.m. on Monday, Feb. 14. Papers may be obtained during the regular hours of the town clerk (Wednesdays, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.) or by appointment. Call 978-249-0493 or email townclerk@royalston-ma.gov.

Positions to be filled and current incumbents include: Selectboard, Roland Hamel; Town Clerk, Barbara Richardson; Constable, Sherry Miner; Assessor, Wade Harman; Cemetery Commission, Sherry Miner; Board of Health, Andrea Crete; Library Trustee, Jeffrey Magnum; Planning Board (5 years), Kathleen Collins; J.N. Bartlett Fund (4 seats), Curtis Deveneau, Nancy Melbourne, Gary Winitzer, one seat vacant; Athol Royalston Regional School Committee for Royalston, Charles Pretti; and, Athol Royalston Regional School Committee (3 seats), Tammy Duquette, Theodore Mallett III, Kenneth Vaidulas.

All positions other than Planning Board and the Bartlett Fund are for three years.

No word, yet, on which incumbents, if any, plan to seek re-election.

Greg Vine can be reached at gvineadn@gmail.com

E-Edition & Local Ads


athol forecast

Social Media

Athol Daily News

14 Hope Street,
Greenfield, MA 01301
Telephone: (413) 772-0261


Copyright © 2021 by Newspapers of Massachusetts, Inc.