Racin’ With Jason: Two county drivers crowned champions at Monadnock

  • Turners Falls' J.D. Stockwell celebrates his track championship in the Pure Stocks division last Saturday at Monadnock Speedway in Winchester, N.H. PHOTO BY CHIP CORMIE

  • Orange's Justin Littlewood celebrates his track championship in the Late Model Sportsmen division last Saturday at Monadnock Speedway in Winchester, N.H. PHOTO BY CHIP CORMIE

  • Hatfield's Tyler Leary celebrates his track championship in the NHSTRA Modifieds division last Saturday at Monadnock Speedway in Winchester, N.H. PHOTO BY CHIP CORMIE

Published: 9/22/2022 7:03:07 PM
Modified: 9/22/2022 7:02:28 PM

The 2022 season at Monadnock Speedway came to a close last Saturday with two Franklin County drivers being crowned champions in their respective divisions.

With his fifth feature win of the season, Turners Falls’ J.D. Stockwell captured the title in the Mini Stocks division, while a third-place finish allowed Orange’s Justin Littlewood to edge his brother Cole for the Late Model Sportsmen crown.

Hatfield’s Tyler Leary finished seventh in the season-ending Whitcomb 5 100 to nail down the championship in the NHSTRA Modified division, while veteran Todd Patnode took the checkered flag in that prestigious race.

Holyoke’s Tim Wenzel won the Street Stocks championship by winning the feature. A week after securing the Mini Stocks title, Gordon Farnum won his ninth straight and 12th race overall. Maine’s Traver Michaud won the Young Guns feature, with Gill’s Owen Zilinski finishing second. That division does not offer season-long points.

Stockwell, 15, recovered from a mid-race bobble to take home the checkers. Chris Davis, who entered the day only two points behind Stockwell, suffered some issues and was relegated to 10th. Young Guns graduate Teagan Edson was second, followed by Greenfield’s Jimmy Zellmann.

Justin Littlewood also held a two-point advantage going in. All he had to do was finish three spots ahead of his brother Cole, and that’s what he did. Ryan Bell and Ryan Currier took the top spots, with Justin finishing third.

With Deerfield’s Ben Byrne unable to compete, all Leary had to do was take the gren flag in the Whitcomb 5 100. He finished a respectable seventh in a talented field. Patnode held off Brian Robie and Sam Rameau to collect the check.

Matt Gauffin won the 62-lap King of the Hill Enduro event, while Chris Sontag won the spectator race.

Jason Remillard is a copy editor and page designer at the Recorder. He can be reached at jremillard@recorder.com and followed on Twitter @racinwithjason.

E-Edition & Local Ads


athol forecast

Social Media

Athol Daily News

14 Hope Street,
Greenfield, MA 01302-1367
Telephone: (413) 772-0261


Copyright © 2021 by Newspapers of Massachusetts, Inc.