No contests on Athol’s Annual Town Election ballot 

  • Stephen R. Raymond 

  • William B. Chiasson

  • Town Hall on Main Street in Athol. Staff Photo/Dan Little

Published: 3/29/2019 9:55:03 PM

ATHOL — There are no contests on the ballot for the Athol Town Election Monday, April 1. There are 11 positions to be filled.

Polls for all three precincts will be open at the Athol Senior Center, 82 Freedom St., from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Lawrence McLaughlin is unopposed in his effort to earn another one-year term as Town Moderator.

Candidates for two three-year terms on the Board of Selectmen include William Chiasson and incumbent Stephen Raymond. Current Vice Chairman William Caldwell declined to seek re-election. Kevin Heath, who earlier expressed an interest in running for one of the seats, decided not to run at this time.

Chiasson is also among a trio of candidates running to fill three of Athol’s seats on the Athol-Royalston Regional School Committee. Others on the ballot are Tammy Duquette and incumbent Kenneth Vaidulas. Terms are for three years each.

Running for a single three-year term to represent Royalston on the school committee is incumbent Charles Pretti.

Incumbents Sharon Brighenti and Margaret Feldmen are each unopposed in the race for two three-year terms on the Board of Library Trustees; Edward Ledgard faces no opposition in his effort to secure another five-year term on the Athol Housing Authority, and; incumbent Kevin Materas is unopposed for another three-year term as Constable.

E-Edition & Local Ads


athol forecast

Most Popular

High School, Starrett partnership bringing back ‘Tool Town’ roots

Scholarship applications available

Village School Children’s Book of the Month


The tale of the town fountain in Warwick

Social Media

Athol Daily News

14 Hope Street,
Greenfield, MA 01302-1367
Telephone: (413) 772-0261
FAX (413) 772-2906


Copyright © 2019 by Newspapers of Massachusetts, Inc.