Please support the Athol Daily News' COVID-19 coverage

The COVID-19 pandemic has brought the local economy — and many of the advertisers who support our work — to a near standstill. During this unprecedented challenge, we continue to make our coronavirus coverage free to everyone at because we feel our most critical mission is to deliver vital information to our communities. If you believe local news is essential, especially during this crisis, please donate.

Thank you for your support of the Athol Daily News.

Michael Moses, Publisher

Penny Ruth Hall wins 85th ADN Baby Contest

  • Emily and Chet Hall of New Salem with their daughter Penny Hall at the Baystate Franklin Medical Center in Greenfield. Penny arrived January 2, 2019. Recorder Staff/PAUL FRANZ

Published: 1/9/2019 10:00:24 PM
Modified: 1/9/2019 10:00:37 PM

ATHOL — It’s a girl! Miss Penny Ruth Hall, born Jan. 2 to Emily and Chet Hall of New Salem, is the winner of the Athol Daily News’ 85th annual Baby Contest.

As the North Quabbin-Mt. Grace region’s first born of 2019, she will receive a wide variety of gifts from area businesses and individuals.

According to the long-standing rules, the winner must be born to a parent/parents who live in one of the nine regional towns: Athol, Erving, New Salem, Orange, Petersham, Phillipston, Royalston, Warwick or Wendell. The winning family is determined by a survey of eight area hospitals, from Worcester to Springfield and Keene, NH.

The healthy baby, weighing 8 pounds and 1 ounce, was born at 6:30 a.m. in the Baystate Franklin Medical Center in Greenfield.

The couple told Recorder staff writer David McLellan that “Penny” was no longer just a name they picked out years ago — that perfect name with the perfect sound, chosen for a future little girl. Now Penny was a beautiful daughter.

According to Emily, 27, and Chet, 29, the New Salem couple “had a feeling” Penny might be a New Year’s baby, coming a few days later than her Dec. 29 due date.

At the birth of her first child, Emily Hall admitted being “a little overwhelmed, but we’re very excited.”

“I’m proud to be a parent,” she said, Penny resting peacefully against her chest with closed eyes. “She’s a cutie.”

The Halls met while they were students at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. The new mother, an educator and coach at Athol-Royalston Middle School, and new father, who works for the Massachusetts Department of Fish and Game, have been together for eight years and married for two.

They agreed on the name Penny years ago, Ms. Hall having “always loved the name.” According to the couple, Mr. Hall loved the sound of the name the first time they discussed it. If they had a daughter, she would be Penny. It was settled.

“I am so proud of her. She did such a great job,” Mr. Hall said of his wife.

Both said they appreciated the Baystate Franklin staff’s care and attention throughout the process.

“We’re very, very excited,” the new father said.

Contest Prizes

The family will receive the following prizes: Athol Daily News – 6 months free subscription; Athol Fire Department — smoke detector and carbon monoxide detector, installed; Athol Spirits — a bottle of Korbel Champagne;  Brooks-MacMannis Florist – floral arrangement; County Line & Mann Lumber — $50 Gift Certificate; Dow Shoe Store – free pair of Robeez Shoes for the baby; Hannaford Supermarket — $25 Gift Certificate; Lakins Children’s Fine Apparel — $25 Gift Certificate; Thomas Mann III — $85; Olde Time New England — $25 Gift Certificate; Orange Oil Company — $50 Gift Certificate; S & S Appliance – Gift Certificate; Stan’s Fine Wines & Liquors – A Gift; White Cloud Restaurant — $25 Gift Card; Witty’s Funeral Home — $100 cash.

Former winners of the First Baby Contest include:

1935 Carolyn Pond

1936 Joan Hamlet

1937 William Baxter

1938 Herbert Lee Hall

1939 James John Manewich

1940 Roger Byron Stewart

1941 Henry Edwin Dupray

1942 Thomas S. Mann III

1943 Donna Rae Vorce

1944 Judith Ann Barboza

1945 Gloria Ann Harris

1946 Nancy Ann Parker

1947 Jean Alice White

1948 Jane Elaine Picard

1949 Sandra Arnold

1950 George D. Swan Jr.

1951 Gregory Joseph Guild

1952 Carol Morin

1953 John Henry Bushee

1954 Sally Ann Shatos

1955 Nola Sue Shepardson

1956 Lori Luanne Barnes

1957 George Fred Woodward Jr.

1958 Keith Edmund Prue

1959 Sue Ellen Grindle

1960 Michael Dennis Jillson and Sandra Jean Van Deusen

1961 Nancy Ann Porter

1962 Lonny Warren Ricketts

1963 Angela Gates

1964 Peter Francis Johnson

1965 Karen Elaine Hatch

1966 Carol Ann Butler

1967 Dennis Charles Connor

1968 Jana Sue Boyer

1969 Dana Paul Sandova

1970 Richard E. Shortis Jr.

1971 Carrie Ann Beland

1972 Jennifer Jo Stevens

1973 Tina Maria Gauthier

1974 Patricia Ann Vaidulas

1975 Robert Dunshee

1976 Jessica Ann Musnicki

1977 Lisa Marie Soucie

1978 Steven Michael Bellemare

1979 Timothy William Graves Jr.

1980 Sarah Christine Haigh

1981 Scott Michael Belanger

1982 Robert James Langlais

1983 Phillip Michael Choquette

1984 Steven Paul Belanger Jr.

1985 Joel Earl Johnson

1986 Lauren Velta Belliveau

1987 Jessie Hildred Jackson

1988 Samantha Rae Reimers

1989 Brandon Michael Dodge

1990 Allysa Christine Hughes

1991 Christina Marie Antilla Simmington

1992 Cory Lee Smith

1993 Jacob Matthew Wilson

1994 Carl Joseph Cartee

1995 Christopher Glen Ross Gordon

1996 Matthew Damion Susen

1997 Aastin Maxwell Patterson

1998 Kaci Theresa Bradshaw

1999 Samuel Richard LeBoeuf

2000 Katelyn Rose Page

2001 Alexandria Marie Moura

2002 Megan Nicole Rich

2003 Eric Neil Arce

2004 Avery Shea Boissonnault

2005 Sophia Jean Woods

2006 Elijah James North

2007 Molly Irene Perla

2008 Brooke Ann Beauchemin

2009 Matthew Paul Whaley

2010 Makenzie Rose Shaw

2011 Hayden Michael Powell

2012 Ella Sophia Shaw-Jarvis

2013 Gianna Rose LeMay

2014 Elaria and Elianna Ibrahim (twins)

2015 Chayton Brantley Nutting

2016 Zander Elen Felix

2017 Shea Nicholas

2018 Saoirse Swan

E-Edition & Local Ads


athol forecast

Social Media

Athol Daily News

14 Hope Street,
Greenfield, MA 01302-1367
Telephone: (413) 772-0261
FAX (413) 772-2906


Copyright © 2019 by Newspapers of Massachusetts, Inc.