Orange voters elect Peirce, Smith, Lussier, Schwanz to Selectboard





Staff Writer
Published: 6/3/2020 10:04:22 AM
Modified: 6/3/2020 10:04:15 AM

ORANGE — The Selectboard is back at full strength following the election of an incumbent and three new members on Monday.

Jane M. Peirce was re-elected to her three-seat with 486 votes and former Selectboard member Thomas J. Smith was the top vote-getter, notching 545. Patricia A. Lussier won a two-year seat with 398 votes to opponent Patrick Clark Davis’ 346 and Alexandre A. Schwanz was elected for one year, besting George C.F. Willard’s 361 with 399 of his own.

Peirce and Smith faced the most competition and beat out former Selectboard member Richard P. Sheridan (258 votes), donna F. duBour (the legal spelling of her name), who had 148 votes, and John B. Avila, who garnered 41.

Smith said he was overwhelmed to see the amount of support he received, earning 383 votes in Precinct 1 and 412 in Precinct 2.

“I’m very happy,” he said Tuesday morning. “It was very heartwarming to see that.”

Orange voters opted two years ago to transform the three-seat Selectboard into a five-seat entity. But it has consisted of three members for much of the time since due to resignations. Sheridan resigned in 2018 believing he could better help the town “on the other side of the table,” James Cornwell stepped down in 2019 and Smith resigned this past January following his sister’s death. In January, member William Wrigley also announced a resignation to be effective after the March 30 election but he remained on a few more months after the COVID-19 pandemic forced the election’s postponement to June 1.

The next Selectboard meeting is scheduled to be held via Zoom starting at 6:30 p.m. on June 3.

Monday’s voting was held in the Ralph C. Mahar Regional School’s gymnasium.

The results of the uncontested races are as follows: Christopher J. Woodcock, moderator, one-year term; Nancy M. Blackmer, town clerk, three-year term; Dianne A. Salcedo and Alexandre A. Schwanz, Elementary School Committee, three-year terms; Elizabeth Cross, Elementary School Committee, two-year seat; Sunday D. Lefebvre, Regional School Committee, three-year terms; Robin P. Shtulman and Joanne E. Woodcock, library trustees, three-year seats; Donald W. Priestley, water commissioner, three-year seat; Stephen P. Johnson, cemetery commissioner, three-year term; Travis S. Knechtel, cemetery commissioner, one-year term; Bruce A. St. John, trustee of Soldiers’ Memorials, veteran position, three-year term; Douglas S. McIntosh, trustee of Soldiers’ Memorials, veteran position, two-year term; Olinto J. Paoletti, Housing Authority, five-year term.

Reach Domenic Poli at: or 413-772-0261, ext. 262.

E-Edition & Local Ads


athol forecast

Most Popular

Photo: Falling water

Social Media

Athol Daily News

14 Hope Street,
Greenfield, MA 01302-1367
Telephone: (413) 772-0261
FAX (413) 772-2906


Copyright © 2020 by Newspapers of Massachusetts, Inc.